Home Sports Dream 11 IPL 2020: Delhi Capitals VS Kings XI Punjab Match Preview

Dream 11 IPL 2020: Delhi Capitals VS Kings XI Punjab Match Preview

61 / 100

Delhi Capitals (DC) vs Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), both the team will commence their IPL campaign on the second day of the league. In 2019 IPL DC qualified for the playoffs while KXIP has failed to finish in the top four since 2014.

There are strengths and weaknesses in both teams and what better way to set the tone for the rest of the tournament than getting up and running early and chalking out a blueprint that can be amended as things progress.

The Shreyas Iyer-led side DC spent big bucks on the likes of Shimron Hetmyer and Marcus Stoinis in the auction. The owners and the team management will hope that big bucks players deliver the results.

DC will miss the services of Sourav Ganguly as he is now BCCI president. However, Ryan Harris replaced James Hopes as the bowling coach.

Kings XI Punjab also spent big bucks on their former captain, Glenn Maxwell, and Sheldon Cottrell.

KXIP have a new face in the form of Anil Kumble in the coaching department. KXIP’s coaching staff includes Jonty Rhodes, Charl Langeveldt and Wasim Jaffer.

Delhi Capitals

Shreyas Iyer will have to make some tough calls. Since the franchise spent Rs 7.75 crore on Rahane but there is no vacant spot at the top in DC. Rahane could replace either of Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant in top four.

This will be another big problem for Iyer, Axar Patel or Harshal Patel or Keemo Paul? The pace attack is sorted out with Ishant Sharma and Kagiso Rabada. Ashwin and Amit Mishra are likely to be two frontline spinners.

Delhi Capitals playing XI 

1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Prithvi Shaw, 3 Shreyas Iyer (Captain), 4 Ajinkya Rahane, 5 Rishabh Pant (WK), 6 Shimron Hetmyer, 7 R Ashwin, 8 Ishant Sharma, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Anrich Nortje, 11 Sandeep Lamichhane

Kings XI Punjab

KL Rahul could be tempted to open with Maxwell at some stage if Gayle fails to fire, but at the start, Gayle is likely to keep his opening spot. Mayank Agarwal is expected to bat in the middle-order while Mandeep Singh and Karun Nair might compete for one site.

Nicholas Pooran will play as a wicketkeeper-batsman. The pace department has two experienced pacers in Sheldon Cottrell and Mohammed Shami and the spin Ravi Bishnoi and Mujeeb-ur-Rahman as well.

Kings XI Punjab playing XI 

1 KL Rahul, 2 Chris Gayle, 3 Mayank Agarwal, 4 Sarfaraz Khan, 5 Nicholas Pooran, 6 Krishnappa Gowtham/Deepak Hooda, 7 Murugan Ashwin, 8 Mohammed Shami, 9 Ishan Porel, 10 Mujeeb-Ur-Rahman, 11 Sheldon Cottrell

Image Source: Google

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here