The Indian Premier League (IPL) has a long-standing history of throwing up surprises, and on Thursday night, the match between SRH VS KXIP, one such incident sparked a bit of confusion among players.
While KXIP was chasing SRH at the 14th over of the KXIP innings, the dismissal of Mujeeb Ur Rahman is a bizarre twist to the match.
The incident took place off the fifth ball of the over of Khaleel Ahmed, where two reviews were taken in one ball regarding the Mujeeb Ur Rahman’s dismissal.
Khaleel Ahmed bowled a fuller delivery, which Mujeeb tried to dig out by bringing his bat down and wicketkeeper Jonny Bairstow catches the ball, and suddenly there was a massive appeal for a caught behind by SRH, turned down by the umpire.
As SRH captain David Warner did not take the DRS surprisingly, the on-field umpire decided to go third-umpire as there were doubts whether it was a bump ball or not.
However, the replay confirms that the ball hit the bat, and it was not a bump ball. As the wicketkeeper, Jonny Bairstow, caught the ball, Mujeeb was given out.
While Mujeeb was headed back to the dressing room, someone from the dressing room reminded him to take the DRS.
On commentary, Mark Nicholas asked that “Given he was charging off to the dressing room, who suggested he did that?” in a reply Pommie Mbangwa said, “Probably someone in the dressing room.” Then Nicholas said, “You got it, Pom.”
However, Mujeeb takes the DRS, and the TV umpire was called into action once again. Now Mujeeb had access to Ultra-Edge. The replay confirms that there was some noise as the ball passed the bat, and Mujeeb was given out.
SRH had a comprehensive 69 runs victory against KXIP. While SRH batting first put a mammoth 201 runs on the board with an excellent opening partnership between Jonny Bairstow (97) and captain David Warner (52).
However, while chasing that mammoth 201 runs, KXIP could only manage to score 132 runs in 16.5 over and got all-out. The KXIP batsmen knock-down in front of the SRH sensational bowling attack.
Image Source: Google