Odisha Will Establish A Commission To Preserve And Advance Indigenous Languages


The Commission for the Preservation and Promotion of the Tribal Languages of the Scheduled Tribes of Odisha has been approved for establishment by the State Government. Through this Commission, the State government of Odisha wishes to protect, foster, grow, and spread the 21 tribal languages that are spoken there. Among other enriching efforts for the development of the tribal languages, the Commission will support multilingual education, the documentation and preservation of tribal languages, the use of such languages, and the protection of linguistic rights.

The Multilingual Education (MLE) program incorporates all 21 tribal languages that have been acknowledged by the government into its educational system. In addition, the Commission will pursue the inclusion of tribal languages such as Ho, Mundari, Kui, and Saora in the Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution by pursuing this with the Center, which has not done so despite multiple initiatives from Nabin Sarkar. The government today issued a unanimous Cabinet resolution restating the demand that 169 communities in Odisha be included to the ST list.

The unanimous resolution passed by the State Cabinet today reiterating the inclusion of Ho, Mundari, Kui and Saora languages in the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has repeatedly demanded and written letters for their inclusion.

Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Leave a Comment