Captain Harmanpreet Kaur created history, Dhoni-Virat and Rohit were also left behind

by Soumayashree Mishra

The Indian women’s cricket team defeated Australia in the super over in the second T20 match. This is Australia’s first defeat in T20Is this year. This was the first super over of the Indian women’s cricket team in the history of T20 International cricket and she has created history by winning it. Apart from the Indian team, captain Harmanpreet Kaur has also created a new history.

With the victory against Australia, Harmanpreet Kaur has achieved such a feat as a captain, which even Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have not been able to do so far. Harmanpreet has now become the Indian captain (women and men) to win the most T20I matches.

Sunday’s win for Harmanpreet was India’s 50th T20I win as captain, eight more than MS Dhoni and 11 more than current skipper Rohit Sharma. Harmanpreet took over the reins of the Indian team in 2016 in the T20I format. India has won 41 T20 matches under Dhoni’s captaincy and 39 T20 matches under Rohit’s captaincy, while India has won 30 T20 matches under Kohli’s captaincy.

From 2007 to 2016, Dhoni made India win 41 matches in 72 T20 matches. Under the captaincy of Mahi, India played one match tie while no result came in 2 matches. Under the captaincy of current captain Rohit, India has so far won 39 out of 51 T20 matches and lost 12. Team India won 30 out of 50 T20 matches under the captaincy of Kohli and lost in 16 matches.

Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

You may also like

Leave a Comment