Deepika Padukone Is The Only Indian Actor To Join The Exclusive Jury For 75th Cannes Film Festival

by Dikhyaa Mohanty

Bollywood actor Deepika Padukone will be a part of this year’s Cannes Film Festival’s main jury. The 75th Cannes film festival will begin on May 17, 2022. French actor Vincent Lindon will be the Jury president, while the main jury panel will include eight members to whom Vincent will reward one of the 21 films in Competition with the Palme d’Or, during the closing ceremony.

Padukone began her career with a Kannada movie, which has Aishwarya Ray as the main lead, the actress then won everyone’s hearts with Shah Rukh Khan starrer, Om Shanti Om in 2007. For her remarkable acting in the movie, she even won a Filmfare Award. Later in her career, she earned the love of her fans through her peculiar talent in films like Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Bajirao Mastani, Padmaavat, and Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-Leela as well as Piku with the late Irrfan Khan and Amitabh Bachchan. Deepika has also acted in the Hollywood production, XXX: Return of Xander Cage.

As per a statement given to media by the Cannes, Deepika has been described as “Indian Actress, producer, philanthropist, and entrepreneur Deepika Padukone is a huge star in her country. actor, producer, philanthropist, and entrepreneur from India. With over 30 feature films to her credit, she made her English language film debut as the female lead in xXx: The Return of Xander Cage, co-starring with Vin Diesel.”

It further added – “she is also the principal of Ka Productions, the production company behind Chhapaak and ‘83, in which she also starred, as well as the upcoming film The Intern. Credits include Gehraiyaan and Padmaavat, as well as the award-winning and critically acclaimed film Piku. In 2015, she set up The Live Love Laugh Foundation, whose programs and initiatives aim to destigmatize mental illness and raise awareness about the importance of mental health. In 2018, Time Magazine named her one of the 100 Most Influential People in the World.”

Apart from her, the other jury members include, Noomi Rapace from Sweden, Jasmine Trinca from Italy, Jeff Nichols from the United States of America, Joachim Trier from Norway, and Rebecca Hall.

Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

You may also like

Leave a Comment