IPS Viresh Kumar Bhawra appointed as the new Punjab Police Chief


Few hours before the announcement of the Punjab Assembly Election date, Pujab CM Charanjit Singh Channi-led Congress government on Saturday appointed VK Bhawra, a 1987-batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer, as the state’s new director general of police (DGP).

Bhawra takes over from acting DGP Sidharth Chattopadhyaya, who is facing scrutiny following the security breach during Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Punjab visit on January 5.

The government order issued in Chandigarh said, Viresh Kumar Bhawra’s term shall be for a minimum of two years from the date of assumption of office.

Initially, the Union Public Service Commission had sent a panel of three names to the state government, including former DGP Dinkar Gupta, Bhawra and Prabodh Kumar, for the top police post in the state.

Bhawra is the third DGP to take charge in as many months of the Channi government’s tenure.

Source – Agency

Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Leave a Comment