Number Of Judges In Orissa High Court Rises To 33


The number of judges in the Orissa High Court has risen to 33 as the posts of six new judges have been approved. Apparently, the Union Ministry of Law has written to the Odisha Law Department and the High Court seeking an increase in the number of judges. Earlier, there were 29 judges in the Orissa High Court.

As per the official reports, the Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court, Dr. S. Muralidhar, had suggested to the Central Government and the Supreme Court to increase the number of judges by 25 percent in the first week of January. There are currently 18 judges in the Orissa High Court, including Chief Justice S. Muralidhar.

Particularly, the Supreme Court Collegium recently recommended the names of four more judges including V. Narasingh, Sanjay Kumar Mishra, Biraja Prasanna Satapathy, and Sri Raman Murahari.

The report further added that in 2014, the number of judges allowed by the Orissa High Court increased from 22 to 27. More than 1,70,000 cases are still pending in the Orissa High Court.

Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Leave a Comment