Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik Appoints Sunil Kumar Bansal as New Odisha DGP


Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik appointed IPS officer Sunil Kumar Bansal as the new Director-General of Police (DGP) of Odisha. He will take charge as the Odisha DGP from January 1.

According to the reports, Bansal is the 1987-batch IPS officer who is currently serving as the Special Director, Intelligence Bureau (IB). He will replace the incumbent DGP Abhay.

As per a notification from Odisha government’s home department, it stated- “On the recommendation of the Union Public Service Commission and in the interest of public service, Shri Sunil Kumar Bansal, IPS (RR-1987) at present under Central Deputation as Special Director, IB Hdqrs., New Delhi is appointed as Director General of Police (HoPF), Odisha in the Apex Scale of Pay (Level 17) in the Pay Matrix for a period of two years with effect from the date of joining in the post”.

Incumbent DGP Abhay was earlier scheduled to retire in June, this year. However, his tenure was later extended till December 31, 2021, by the state government.


Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Leave a Comment