Sectoral Session At MIO Conclave’22 On Energy Transition For Sustainable Economic Growth


The Energy Department on Friday convened a session on ‘Energy Transition for Sustainable Economic Growth’ at Make In Odisha Conclave’22 on Friday. At this session, emphasis was laid on the role of Government in guiding the collective efforts of all stakeholders towards the common goal of energy transition for a sustainable future.

Dr Winfried Damm, Head of Indo-German Energy Programme, GIZ shared their experience of providing technical assistance to various Government departments in India as well as globally in formulating Energy Transition plans. Discussions held on the lessons learnt in implementing large scale clean energy projects in other parts of India. The sustainable energy initiatives in the transportation sector were also discussed.

Delivering the welcome address, Principal Secretary, Energy Nikunja Bihari Dhal stated that Odisha is currently formulating a multi-sector, long-term energy action plan for the State which will ensure that the Energy Transition is Just & Equitable and leads to sustainable economic growth.

Development Commissioner-cum-Additional Chief Secretary Pradeep Kumar Jena chaired the Session. He stated that Clean energy is a foremost priority for Odisha. Every year the State bears the brunt of extreme weather events such as cyclones which severely impacts livelihoods of people. The socio-economic cost of such weather events is massive.

For an industrial State like Odisha with large reserves of coal, it is imperative to develop a long term strategy for energy transition which focuses on sustainable growth. The energy transition must be such that there is a net positive impact on socio-economic growth. This will ensure a ‘Just Transition.’ Energy transition is not the agenda of a single organization or a single department. It is a collective responsibility of all stakeholders including government departments, private sector as well as citizens.

Panelists at the session included Dinesh Dayanand Jagdale, Joint Secretary, Ministry of New & Renewable Energy (joined on VC), Sanjay Mishra, CMD, OPTCL & Special Secretary, Commerce and Transport, Sanjay Dube, Principal Secretary, Energy, Madhya Pradesh and Debiprasad Dash, Executive Director, India Energy Storage Alliance.


Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Leave a Comment