Utkal University confers honorary Doctorates to five gems


The mother university of Odisha Utkal University’s convocation ceremony is set to take place on April 3. Five dignitaries from across the country will be conferred the title of Honorary Doctorate. Vice-president Venkaiah Naidu is scheduled to attend.

Utkal University has finalised names of five noted personalities to confer honorary degree (honoris causa DLitt) on them at the convocation ceremony.

According to the decision, the university will award the degrees to five dignitaries Reserve Bank of India governor Shaktikanta Das, comptroller and auditor general of India Girish Chandra Murmu, Orissa high court judge Justice Sanju Panda, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre director Ajit Kumar Mohanty and Odisha Adarsha Vidyalaya Sangathan (OAVS) advisor Bijaya Sahoo.

Murmu, who is also the chairman of the panel of external auditors of the United Nations, completed his post graduation in political science from Utkal University. Sharat Kumar Majhi, examination controller of Utkal University, said the university will award PhD degrees to 40 scholars and gold medals to 90 students for this year’s convocation.

Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 6

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Leave a Comment