Voting to elect India’s new Vice President to be held today


 The polling for the Vice-Presidential elections will be held in the Parliament House today. The voting will be conducted from 10 am to 5 pm. The ballots will be counted immediately after the voting.

According to the reports, the results of the poll will likely be declared later in the evening. The Secretary-General, Lok Sabha will be appointed as the Returning Officer for the election.

Jagdeep Dhankhar, the former Governor of West Bengal, is the vice-presidential candidate of the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA), while the opposition, led by the Congress has appointed Margaret Alva as its candidate for the post.

The vice-president is elected by the members of both Houses of Parliament in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote.

A total of 245 Rajya Sabha members and 543 elected members of the Lok Sabha will vote for the 16th Vice-Presidential Election this year. according to the Election Commission, the value of the vote of each member would be the same i.e. 1. The voting will be held by a secret ballot.

Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Leave a Comment