Assembly Elections: AAP ends BJP’s 15-year hold on Delhi civic body, wins MCD polls with thin majority

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won the MCD polls with 134 seats, eight more than the required majority. The BJP is a close second with 104 seats.

by Priya Bharti

The most awaited Delhi Assembly Polls have finally come up with a great victory for the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). The AAP won the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) election as it pulled ahead of the BJP, which has ruled the civic body for the past 15 years, after over five hours of vote counting.

Kejriwal’s party Aam Aadmi Party has won 134 wards in the 250-ward MCD whereas  The Bhartiya Janata Party won 104 seats and the Congress at a distant third with just nine seats. The MCD has 250 communities, and the simple majority mark is 126.


With Some India Today inputs

Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

You may also like

Leave a Comment