Know: Indian flag ‘Hoisted’ on Independence Day but ‘Unfurled’ on Republic Day! Why?

by Priya Bharti

Republic Day: India is celebrating the 73rd Republic Day this year and the enthusiasm is being noticed across the country with all pageantry and splendour. The main celebration is held in the national capital, New Delhi, at the Rajpath before the President of India.

President of India will preside over the parade and celebrations, albeit muted in the wake of the pandemic’s third wave due to the Omicron variant. Covid-19 has played spoilsport for yet another year as the Centre had to reportedly cancel the plans to have any foreign chief guests. The government had earlier sent invitations to the Heads of State of five Central Asian countries to be the chief guests for the Republic Day Parade 2022. Last year, an invitation was sent to British Prime Minister Boris Johnson. However, he had to cancel his visit, citing the need to oversee pandemic response in the United Kingdom.

Do You Know! January 26th is also the ‘Poorna Swaraj Diwas’ — the day Indian National Congress declared as ‘Independence Day’ in 1930. Post the actual Independence in August 1947, January 26 was chosen to mark Republic Day.

Speaking of Independence and Republic Days, did you know that the Indian flag is ‘hoisted’ on Independence Day on August 15, and ‘unfurled’ on Republic Day on January 26? The difference is that on Independence Day, the flag is tied to the bottom of the flag pole and is ‘hoisted’ to the top. This is to mark India’s rise as an independent country and the end of British rule. On Republic Day, the flag is tied to the top of the flag pole and is ‘unfurled’ indicating an open era for the country to spread its wings as a Republic.

Moreover, it is the Prime Minister who hoists the flag on Independence Day, whereas it is the President who unfurls the flag on January 26. The reason behind this is that when the country became independent on August 15, 1947, there was no President, and it was the Prime Minister who was the head of the Indian government. However, on January 26, 1950, Dr Rajendra Prasad took oath as the first president of India and became the ceremonial head of state.

The Indian flag is based on the one designed by freedom fighter Pingali Venkayya, who presented it to Mahatma Gandhi during his visit to Vijayawada on April 1, 1921. Subsequently, some changes were made to the original design and the tricolour in its present form was adopted on July 22, 1947.

Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

You may also like

Leave a Comment