Home Business Times Odisha MSME department tunes in to cluster mode for promotion

Odisha MSME department tunes in to cluster mode for promotion

Odisha MSME department tunes in to cluster mode for promotion

The Odisha MSME department has decided to adopt the cluster mode for developing and promotion of products manufactured by the units. The initiative is being spearheaded by Satyabrata Sahu, principal secretary, MSME department. For the department, the emphasis is on the identification of clusters in each district.

Directorate of Export, Marketing and Promotion (DEPM) has identified potential products for export in each district and accordingly Action Plan shall be made for packaging, branding and logistics, the establishment of market linkage and preparation of road map for export promotion from the State is being worked out.

The state government has constituted District Level Export Promotion Committee (DLEPC) under the chairmanship of District Collectors and assigned activities for DLEPC. DLEPC will prepare District Export Promotion Action Plan and will identify potential export products of the District.

DLEPC will also prepare quantifiable results of export performance at District Level and will organize regular meeting and will present detailed reports to the State Government, said an official.

DoEPM looking at the existing exportable products, Engineering Clusters in Angul, Keonjhar, Sundergarh, Koraput, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, Jharsuguda, have been identified.

Similarly Cashew Processing Cluster in Gajapati and Rice Cluster in Sambalpur , Balangir, Spice Processing in Kandhamal, Dry Fish and Petroleum Products Cluster in Jagatsinghpur have been identified, said sources.

Major Rice producing district like Bargarh, Bhadrakh, Boudh, Jajpur, Kalahandi, Nuapada, Balangir and Sonepur have been identified for Rice Clusters.

Agriculture Export Policy (AEP), recognizes Cluster Approach and it tackles the entire ecosystem related to enabling market access and acceptability based on the introduction of agricultural clusters.

The idea of clustering is well-known in the industry, and to some extent, in agricultural products. Similarly, for engineering Clusters, Khordha, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, Angul, Jharsuguda, Sundargarh, Rayagada, Koraput and keonjhar has been identified.

With Odisha implementing One District One Product (ODOP) Initiative, districts have been identified accordingly with existing exportable products.

While  Angul has alumina and aluminium products, Balangir has Herbal Gum and Natural Forest Products, Balasore has Prawn, Tyres, Tubes, Paper, Plastic Molded Furniture, PVC Pipes, Bhadrakh has HC Ferro Chrome, Cuttack has Spices, Processed Food, Handloom Products.

Similarly existing exportable items in Ganjam are Rare Earth Minerals like illeminite, Garnet, Thorium Nitrate, Ferro Chrome, Jagatsinghpur has Petroleum Products, Jajpur has Tamrind Paste, Kandhamal has Turmeric, Ginger, Ragi, Keonjhar has Iron Ore, Chrome Ore, Ferro Manganese.

Khorda has existing exportable products like Marine Products, Transformers, Surgical Tools, Software, Handicrafts, Koraput has Aluminium, Paper, Aero Engine, Nabarangpur has Maize, Rice, Dry Chilly, Sambalpur has Aluminium Ingots, Sundergarh has Sanitary Casting, Machnery, Refractory Products.

In order to develop potential District Level Export Promotion Committee (SLEPC) have been formed Khordha, Cuttack, Kendrapara, Bhadrakh, Puri, Jharsuguda, Nabarangpur, Deogarh, Kalahandi, Gajapati, Sambalpur, Balasore, Angul and Sambalpur.

DLEPC will prepare Action Plan for exports and scale up the activities in the respective areas, officials say.

Written By: Dibyajit Sahu

Image Source: Google

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 4.2 / 5. Vote count: 5

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

🤞 Don’t miss Daily News!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here