Nine New Supreme Court Judges Take Oath, Strength Rises To 33

by Dikhyaa Mohanty

Nine new judges, including three women, were administered the oath of office as judges of the Supreme Court, taking its strength to 33. It is for the first time in the history of the apex court that nine judges took the oath of office at one go.

According to the reports, Chief Justice of India N. V. Ramana administered the oath of office to the new judges in a swearing-in ceremony held in the auditorium of the Supreme Court’s additional building complex. With the swearing-in of the nine new judges, the strength of the Supreme Court has risen to 33, including the CJI, out of the sanctioned strength of 34.

The report further added that the nine new judges who were administered the oath of office as apex court judges include Justice Abhay Shreeniwas Oka, Justice Vikram Nath, Justice Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari, Justice Hima Kohli and Justice B. V. Nagarathna.

Besides them, Justice C. T. Ravikumar, Justice M. M. Sundresh, Justice Bela M. Trivedi and Justice P. S. Narasimha, who was a senior advocate and former Additional Solicitor General, were also administered the oath of office by the CJI. Three out of these nine new judges – Justices Nath, Nagarathna and Narasimha – are also in line to become the CJI.

Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

You may also like

Leave a Comment