Cyclone ‘Sitrang’- Low Pressure Area Formation Over Bay Of Bengal Likely In 24 Hours

by Dikhyaa Mohanty

The fear of another tropical storm hangs big over Odisha and the eastern Indian coast in general, according to the India Meteorological Department (IMD), which firmly reinforced the likelihood of the formation of a cyclone over the Bay of Bengal after October 22.
Notably, many weather models from across the world predict the development of a cyclone with variable trajectories for the system to go. Experts speculate that the storm may follow the course of Extremely Severe Cyclonic Storm Fani, which barreled over the Odisha coast in 2019 and caused major havoc. While some speculate that the storm may reach the mainland between the coasts of Odisha and Andhra.

The IMD, however, has not clarified the situation regarding the path and power of the potential cyclone. Despite the uncertainty, it is important to note that if the system develops into a cyclone, it will be called in accordance with the long-established convention for naming tropical cyclones. Cyclones and other natural disasters have names all across the world to help people remember them and give them a better historical portrayal. Cyclones were first given arbitrary names, but this caused confusion, therefore systematic naming of tropical cyclones was introduced. Currently, one of the six regional specialized meteorological centers (RSMCs) or five tropical cyclone warning centers (TCWCs) names cyclones that develop in any ocean basin throughout the world.

The cyclones that are forming across the northern Indian Ocean, encompassing the Bay of Bengal and the Arabian Sea, are given names by IMD. To its 13 member nations—Bangladesh, India, Iran, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen—it issues tropical cyclone and storm surge advisories. At its 27th session in Muscat, Sultanate of Oman in 2000, the Panel on Tropical Cyclones (PTC) of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia-Pacific (ESCAP) reached an agreement in principle to name the tropical cyclones in the Bay of Bengal and Arabian Sea. The tropical cyclone naming over the north Indian Ocean began in September 2004 after much discussion among the member nations.

Each nation provides a list of names, which are progressively assigned based on the member nation’s first letter. According to the guidelines, the name is unrelated to gender, politics, religion, or culture. An individual’s name is only used once.
2020 saw the publication of a new list with 169 names, comprising 13 names from each of 13 nations. India has given several names like Gati (speed), Megh (cloud), and Akash (sky). Sri Lanka gave the name Asani to the most recent cyclone, which struck Andhra Pradesh in May of this year. The name Sitrang, given by Thailand, will be applied to the next cyclone that is expected to form over the Bay of Bengal. The last name is Thai.

Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

You may also like

Leave a Comment