Home International Four Indo-American Lawmakers re-elected to US House of Representatives

Four Indo-American Lawmakers re-elected to US House of Representatives


The whole world is watching the US presidential election.  But in the midst of it all, there is history created by Indo-Americans in the House of Representatives. All Four Indian-American MPs from all Democratic parties have been re-elected.  Dr. Amy Bera, Pramila Jayapal, Ro Khana and Raja Krishnamurthy have been re-elected to the House of Representatives.

 The Indo-American has played a key role in the ongoing United States presidential election.  He tried to attract both Indians and Americans to both the Democratic and Republican parties.  The 1.8 million members of the editorial board played a key role in the two parties, while Florida, Georgia, Michigan, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Texas played important roles in the election.

 A word like “Samosa Caucus” was coined by Krishnamurthy for the Indo-American group.  The group could have expanded if  Hiral Tipirneni had won from Arizona.  If Tipirineni had won, she would have been elected to the House of Representatives as the second Indian-American woman.  Jayapal, 55, was the first Indian-American woman to be elected in 2016. As a member of the Democratic party, her district includes most of Seattle as well as suburban areas of King Country.

 Raja Krishnamurthy easily defeated Preston Nelson of the Libertarian Party.  However, according to the report, he received 71 percent of the vote.  44-years-old Ro Khana won the 17th Congressional District of California with an easy victory.  This is his third consecutive victory.  In addition, 55-year-old Amy Bera, a senior member of Samosa Caucus, won for the fifth time.

Written By Akankshya Mahapatra

Image Source : Google