Netflix password sharing settings to be changed from 2023

by Subhechcha Ganguly
2k views
0
(0)

As the streaming service starts to punish users for sharing their login information and governments like the UK have issued strong laws against the practise, Netflix will officially end password sharing in 2023. Netflix announced a significant decline in subscribers not long after the first fiscal quarter of 2022 came to an end. Since then, Netflix has experimented with a variety of various subscriber-growth strategies, one of which was the debut of a lower-tiered, ad-supported subscription tier in November of last year. Another suggestion made was to prohibit password sharing among users, which may now be becoming more popular.

According to the firm, more than 100 million Netflix subscribers currently access the site using credentials they borrow, frequently from friends or relatives. Netflix has stated that it would stop this arrangement and start charging those who share accounts as of 2023. Early in the year, the business plans to start implementing the move in the United States. Sharing your Netflix password may be against the law because it violates copyright laws, according to the UK Intellectual Property Office (IPO) on Tuesday. One of the criteria for the counterfeit and pirate campaign that the UK IPO and Meta are working on clearly states that using streaming services without purchasing a subscription constitutes piracy.

It stated that disclosing passwords constituted a civil and criminal concern.
If the goal of password sharing is to enable a user to access copyright-protected material without paying, a number of legal laws, both criminal and civil, may be relevant.Depending on the situation, these clauses might cover fraud, secondary copyright infringement, or breach of contractual conditions.Where these obligations are set forth in civil law, it is incumbent to the service provider to seek redress in court if necessary.According to Netflix, it wants to “make it simple” for users who used other people’s accounts to set up their own, transfer their profiles into a new account, and create “sub-accounts” allowing users to pay more for family or friends.

Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

You may also like

Leave a Comment