Newly elected lawmakers swear allegiance in the Karnataka Assembly


On Monday, the first meeting of the 16th Karnataka Legislative Assembly since the Siddaramaiah administration took office. In his capacity as Pro-tem Speaker of the House, Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot gave the oath to veteran politician R.V. Deshpande in the Raj Bhavan. The oldest member of the house and a nine-term MLA is Deshpande. As the pro-term Speaker, Deshpande presided over the Assembly meeting on Monday.

The notable individuals who took the oath as MLAs on Monday included Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, Deputy Chief Minister D.K. Shivakumar, newly appointed ministers, and former Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai. All 224 members will take the oath during the three-day session, which concludes on Wednesday, according to the Pro-tem speaker. “We have all been elected, and we have come here with the blessing of the people of Karnataka,” Deshpande said in his remarks. All of our efforts must be directed toward the state’s growth.

The MLAs should cooperate despite political differences for the overall advancement of Karnataka, he added, noting that he could recognize numerous veteran faces in the house as well as some new leaders. He urged the lawmakers to fight towards “that Karnataka which was a model for the country and where people live in harmony and peace”.

Do you find this post useful?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Leave a Comment